Take a walk down memory lane of Gympie’s Memorial Park and Laneway in celebration of the centenary since its official opening. Enjoy our pictorial slideshow of images of the park and surrounds through the last 100 years (below).
The “Fallen Soldiers Memorial Park (Gympie and Widgee District)” was officially opened on Wednesday 20 April 1921 by Gympie’s popular war hero, Major-General Sir William Glasgow with a procession, carnival, concert and several days of celebrations. Pioneer aviator Bert Hinkler, whose grandparents lived in Gympie (his mother was raised in Gympie), flew low over Memorial Park on Saturday, 23 April 1921 before landing at the Gympie Showgrounds on the Southside. His Avro Baby aeroplane was towed to Memorial Park and displayed there for several days.
Read more about Bert Hinkler’s visit to the region here
The Prince of Wales had earlier visited Gympie, prior to the park’s official opening. The Prince, arriving on the 3 August 1920 at Gympie Railway Station, was driven through cheering crowds to Memorial Park where he was formally welcomed and gave a short speech. He returned to the railway station via Memorial Laneway. To avoid giving offence by accepting some invitations and declining others, the Prince had decided not to ‘open’ any war memorials on his Australian tour.
To discover more on the history and making of the Memorial Park and Laneway, including the Band Stand in the park, download your free e-book here from the Gympie Regional Libraries ‘The past in print”, along with other wonderful publications of Gympie regional history.